Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Welcome Joy Welcome Sorrow - Spiro
I Am The Blaze On Every Hill
Blyth High Light
Flying In The Hours Of Darkness
Burning Bridge
And All Through The Winter He Hid Himself Away
One Train May Hide Another
Will You Go Walk The Woods So Wild
The Vapourer
Thought Fox
Folded In The Arms Of The Earth
The Still Point Of The Turning World
Welcome Joy And Welcome Sorrow

Welcome Joy and Welcome Sorrow



Released 13 April 2015

Spiro: “Dazzling”, “magnificent”, “intense and minimal”, “soulful”, “passionate”, “breathtakingly moving” – this unique Bristol-based acoustic four-piece are celebrated for the beauty of their interlocking, intricate musical patterns. Like whirlpools, they suck you in to a compelling, complex minimalism and you’re swept away in an irresistible river of sound. And just when you think it can’t get any better, with each release Spiro up their game.

This is a subtle but exhilarating band. A jaunty and atmospheric workout that constantly changes mood and pace.  * * * *
The Guardian (UK)

Intense sweeping instrumentals¬†dominated by Jane Harbour’s stellar violin playing, conjuring visions of drifting landscapes. Without doubt, it’s music of rare beauty.
Acoustic Magazine (UK)

There are virtuosity, extraordinary group playing and dynamics on show, wedded to a strong musical vision and a sense of what instrumental composition can achieve.
fRoots (UK)

Read more about this release »