Skip to product information
1 of 4

Real World Store

A Lantern and a Bell

A Lantern and a Bell

Regular price £10.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Loney dear is the singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Emil Svanängen’s idiosyncratic musical project where classic song-writing meets complex productions – both wide open and uplifting as well as sensitive and heart breaking…

Recorded by Svanängen with producer Emanuel Lundgren in a mythical studio on western Södermalm in Stockholm, ‘A Lantern and A Bell’ is Loney dear’s second album for Real World, following 2017’s self-titled release.

Sea birds, distorted noise, and then the line “Mighty ships hung over ground” – the marine theme not only begins but makes its mark throughout the album.

The soundscape, with Emil Svanängen's unmistakable falsetto at the very front of the mix, is extremely stripped down. A compliant piano, a discreet double bass, occasional chords, and diffused water sounds, at dark low frequencies, pulsating from unknown depths.

Speaking about Emil’s new record - on which he has consulted as a sounding board, label founder Peter Gabriel says; "Sad soulful melodies that create space in your head that fill with memories dreams and tenderness. I am very proud that we are working with such a gifted songwriter. When you’re isolating, what better than to be wrapped up in these beautiful imaginative constructions - the work of a master."

Track List

1. Mute / All things pass
2. Habibi (A clear black line)
3. Trifles
4. Go Easy on Me Now (Sirens + emergencies)
5. Last night / Centurial Procedures (the 1900s)
6. Oppenheimer
7. Darling
8. Interval / Repeat
9. A House and a Fire

View full details