Skip to product information
1 of 1

Real World Store

Addis Through The Looking Glass

Addis Through The Looking Glass

Regular price £8.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £8.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

When their first set, A Town Called Addis was released in 2008 it was hailed as one of the most inventive fusion albums of the year, with its blend of contemporary and traditional Ethiopian styles, jazz and dub reggae. Addis Through the Looking Glass is a more lengthy, even more varied and sophisticated album that moves the experiment on – with the Ethiopian contingent playing a greater role in the proceedings. It’s still an experimental fusion set, not a straightforward recording of Ethiopian songs, but the successes of the years between recordings led to growing trust and confidence within the band.

This time they were saying to me ‘we’d like to show you our take on it, rather than you interpreting us’, explains Dubulah. It was a good exchange. They would come up with the subject matter and ideas for the next phase of the group. And I’d transport some of their ideas into another world.

Track List

1. Addis Through The Looking Glass
2. Dub Will Tear Us Apart
3. Wey Fikir
4. Yeh Shimbraw Tir Tir
5. Tringo Dub
6. Satta Massagana
7. Kuratu
8. Feqer Aydelem Wey
9. Guragigna
10. Yezema Meseret
11. Yigermel
12. Wehgene
13. Uptown Top Ranking
14. Gubeliye

View full details