Skip to product information
1 of 14

Real World Store

Africa Series - Bundle Offer

Africa Series - Bundle Offer

Regular price £59.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £59.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Special offer – Buy all six Africa Series albums together at a discounted price

In celebration of Africa Day 2022, Real World Records announced Africa Sessions at Real World, an LP & CD reissue series focusing on recordings made at Real World Studios during the 1990s by six legendary African artists.

In the late 20th Century some of the greatest artists in Africa came to Real World Studios in rural England, a state-of-the-art facility bathed in natural light, fashioned from organic materials and built next to a millpond reflecting the sky.

Over the course of several years, from 1989 to 1997, recording sessions by six acts in particular turned out albums that are now widely regarded as classics: Songs for the Poor Man by the late Tanzania-based icon Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila. Faso Denou by mighty percussion troupe Farafina from Burkina Faso. Dead Men Don’t Smoke Marijuana by late beloved Sierra Leonean singer/guitarist, S.E. Rogie.

Morocco’s legendary Master Musicians of Jajouka led by Bachir Attar recorded Jajouka Between the Mountains. Nigeria’s King Wasiu Ayinde Marshal I magicked the fizzing, good time Talazo Fuji Music Party! Senegalese A-lister Omar Pene & Super Diamono delivered Direct From Dakar in the Big Room, with its vast windows, wrap-around desk and tranquil water view.

View full details