Skip to product information
1 of 7

Real World Store

Live at WOMAD 1982

Live at WOMAD 1982

Regular price £22.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £22.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

A historic live recording celebrating the 40th anniversary of a landmark cultural moment including performances by Echo & The Bunnymen, Peter Gabriel, Simple Minds, The Beat, The Drummers of Burundi, The Musicians of the Nile and many more.

WOMAD 1982. The Royal Bath and West Showground near Shepton Mallet, Somerset. The heart of the world in the heart of the West Country. A festival of new and traditional arts from four continents and over 20 countries.

Real World Studios 2021. The process of restoring the 40-year-old audio tapes recorded at the first WOMAD festival began, overcoming many technical challenges to ensure these vital, historic performances were saved. This album is a window onto three days of amazing music – highlights from multiple stages, of artists from many corners of the globe.

Track List

1. The Musicians of the Nile - Tabla Iqae
2. The Beat - Mirror in the Bathroom
3. Pigbag - Big Bag
4. The Drummers of Burundi - Kama K’iwacu
5. Peter Gabriel - I Have the Touch
6. Robert Fripp - WOMAD II
7. Tian Jin Music and Dance Ensemble - Raindrops Pattering on Banana Leaves
8. Echo and the Bunnymen - Zimbo (with the Royal Burundi Drummers)
9. The Musicians of the Nile - Taksim Arghul
10. Salsa de Hoy - Salsa de Hoy
11. Rip Rig & Panic - You’re My Kind of Climate
12. Mark Springer - Key Release
13. The Chieftains - Cotton-Eyed Joe
14. Simple Minds - Promised You a Miracle
15. Ekome - Gahu
16. Peter Hammill - A Ritual Mask
17. Peter Gabriel featuring Ekome - Biko
18. Sasono Mulyo - Gamelan Gong Kebyar [CD & Digital Download]
19. Prince Nico Mbarga with the Ivory Coasters - Wayo In-law [CD & Digital Download]

View full details