Skip to product information
1 of 5

Real World Store

Musow Danse

Musow Danse

Regular price £23.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £23.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

The all-female African supergroup Les Amazones d’Afrique, a collective which has included some of the biggest stars in African music, make a triumphant return with a brand-new sound on their third album Musow Danse.

Les Amazones d’Afrique is an all-female collective formed in Bamako, Mali, in 2014 by three renowned Malian music stars and social change activists, Mamani Keïta, Oumou Sangaré and Mariam Doumbia, and it has since expanded to involve many female artists from across Africa and the diaspora. While their cause — campaigning for gender equality and eradicating ancestral violence — is worthy enough in itself, their musical creative expression is equally powerful. Richly melodic and far-ranging, it blends pan-African styles and collaborative harmonies with gritty, contemporary pop.

Following two critically-acclaimed albums République Amazone (2017) and Amazones Power (2020) working with the idiosyncratic Congotronics producer Doctor L, the band have now collaborated with Jacknife Lee (U2, Modest Mouse, Taylor Swift) on the new album to embrace a powerful pop sound led by 808s and glitchy synths and drawing from contemporary hip-hop and trap influences.

Track List

1. Musow Danse (Women’s Dance)
2. Mother Murakoze (feat. Alvie Bitemo)
3. Flaws (feat. Mamani Keïta & Fafa Ruffino)
4. Kiss Me (feat. Dobet Gnahoré)
5. Kuma Fo (What They Say)
6. Espérance (feat. Mamani Keïta)
7. To Be Loved (feat. Kandy Guira)
8. Queen Kuruma (feat. Fafa Ruffino)
9. Bobo Me (Interlude) [feat. Nneka]
10. Amahoro (Don’t Get Angry) [feat. Alvie Bitemo]
11. My Place (feat. Dobet Gnahoré)
12. Bobo Me (feat. Nneka & Mamani Keïta)

View full details