Skip to product information
1 of 6

Real World Store

Palabras Urgentes

Palabras Urgentes

Regular price £10.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

In the 50th year of her musical career Susana Baca has no intentions of surrendering her creativity to the will of others and Palabras Urgentes is not just another album in her discography. It is more than that. It is a musical creation, a collection of songs, intended to take on today’s difficult times.

The album was not created to be just a beautiful distraction or as a means to charm the listener. On the contrary, Susana has recorded this album as a form of protest and to spark debate – and the listener must understand this to really understand the album – but, also, as a means to encourage us to cherish and value the time we are given and to live in the fullest sense.

Immersed in her country’s political landscape Susana Baca has come to understand and value the importance of being the heir to singers that once sung for liberty, social equality and for the end of racism. There is a bleak shadow over Peru’s recent history and the only way forward is by confronting the past.

Palabras Urgentes is a collection of 10 songs that attempts to bottle the heritage and tradition of those that once fought for a better world. It was recorded in Cañete, a small town located 150 kilometres from Peru’s Capital, and the songs are given added life by the presence and support of Michael League of the emblematic New York band Snarky Puppy whose production brings a universal and contemporary sound to the album.

Palabras Urgentes’ message is strong and it uses the most powerful weapon to fight injustice: knowledge.

Track List

1. La herida oscura
2. Negra del alma
3. Color de rosa
4. Milonga de mis amores
5. Cariño
6. Cambalache
7. Sorongo
8. Juana Azurduy
9. Dämmerung
10. Vestida de vida

View full details