Skip to product information
1 of 4

Real World Store

Rated PG

Rated PG

Regular price £10.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

“I have always loved film and any chance I have been offered to work with good film projects and good directors I have jumped at. This is a mixture of songs that have been written for specific films, and existing songs that found an appropriate place in a story. Consequently, there is a mix of different styles and moods.” – Peter Gabriel

Rated PG is a collection of Peter Gabriel songs from the movies. Released 12 June 2020.

The album is an opportunity to bring together in one place a selection of songs written especially for, or used to notable effect in, movies and includes new and previously unreleased versions, otherwise unavailable songs and a new track.

The album was first released for Records Store Day in April 2019 as a limited edition picture disc, which is now sold out. This standard version sees the the album released on digi-pack CD and heavyweight black vinyl. The vinyl is 1LP, cut at 33rpm and comes with printed inner bag and a hi-res download code.

Having always loved the combination of film and music (aged 17 he gave up a place at film school to pursue a career in music) Peter Gabriel’s first opportunity to really marry these twin interests came when he was asked to create the music for Alan Parker’s film Birdy in 1985. Further film work, including his music for Martin Scorsese’s The Last Temptation of Christ (that became the album Passion) and the soundtrack to Philip Noyce’s film Rabbit-Proof Fence (released as the album Long Walk Home), has continued to feed that interest.

Alongside those longer soundtrack commissions Peter Gabriel has also regularly contributed songs to a diverse range of movies and Rated PG explores this other connection forged by Peter between his music and film.

This is the European black vinyl pressing - remastered at half speed by Matt Colton at Metropolis - and digipack CD version of the album.

Track List

1. That'll Do
2. Down To Earth
3. This Is Party Man
4. The Book Of Love
5. Taboo (featuring Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan)
6. Everybird
7. Walk Through The Fire
8. Bol (Speak)
9. Nocturnal
10. In Your Eyes

View full details