Skip to product information
1 of 2

Real World Store

Shaking The Tree

Shaking The Tree

Regular price £10.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Released in 1990, Shaking The Tree was a career-spanning overview of Peter’s solo years from his first self-titled album of 1977 up to the 1989 Passion soundtrack, with a few curiosities and rarities to grab the ear of the completist.

The compilation’s title track, a playful duet between Peter and Senegalese superstar Youssou N’Dour, hadn’t previously appeared on a Gabriel album, just on Youssou’s The Lion album. Here it reappears, albeit it with a new vocal from Peter. Here Comes The Flood, originally from his 1977 debut, is also revisited, this time in a deeply effective (and affecting) piano-and-voice treatment.

“’Shaking The Tree’ was somewhat ironically called ‘Sixteen Golden Greats’. Normally people do their greatest hits, but it would be more like greatest ‘hit’ for me."

Track List

1. Solsbury Hill
2. I Don't Remember
3. Sledgehammer
4. Family Snapshot
5. Mercy Street
6. Shaking The Tree
7. Don't Give Up
8. San Jacinto
9. Here Comes The Flood
10. Red Rain
11. Games Without Frontiers
12. Shock The Monkey
13. I Have The Touch
14. Big Time
15. Zaar
16. Biko

View full details